Nurx - Birth Control and PrEP

Nurx - Birth Control and PrEP

  • Category: Medical
  • Release Date:
  • Current Version: 1.3.0
  • Adult Rating: 12+
  • Developer: Propel Network LLC
  • Compatibility: Android
3.5
3.5
790 Ratings
$ 0

Nurx - Birth Control and PrEP App

You’re moments away from never again having to visit the doctor’s office or stand in line at the pharmacy for your basic healthcare needs. We make it easier to take care of yourself on your terms and from the comfort of your home in 3 simple steps: 1. Tell us a bit about yourself 2. Our doctors review & prescribe 3. Nurx delivers to your door for free Get birth control starting at $0 copay with insurance or $15 without. PrEP is also covered by insurance, and if you don’t have insurance, our PrEP team will help you determine what payment assistance programs you qualify for. “A game Changer for Birth Control” - ELLE “The first to offer an at-home lab test for PrEP” - Business Insider Affordable: Free consultation, prescription & delivery • Simple: Works with or without insurance • Trusted: Talk to a board-certified healthcare practitioner at any time • Safe: Confidential and private from your home • Name brands: We offer 50+ brands of birth control – pills, ring or patch • Convenient: Automatic refills. Never run out of your medication again *Birth Control on Your Terms* Get personalized advice and a birth control prescription that works for you and have it delivered to your door. Choose from over 50 brands of birth control or let one of our doctors help you choose. Begin with a few questions, chat with our doctors, and upload some identification. We'll always try to prescribe you 3 months at a time for your convenience. Delivery at your door in under 5 business days. Refills are automatic, so you never have to worry about running out of birth control again. *PrEP Without Leaving the House* Nurx is the only place to get PrEP from home. Our in-home lab testing kits make it easy for you to get results quickly without scheduling any appointments and lab visits. We carefully review your results and prescribe PrEP if it is a good option for you. *Simple Delivery, Clear Pricing* We’ve made it easy for you to get birth control or PrEP online by helping you each step of the way from the initial setup to the prescription, delivery and follow up from our medical providers. Why pay a copay just for a prescription? Our doctor’s consultation, prescription, and delivery is completely free of charge. You only pay for the medication. Don’t have insurance? No problem, we’ll help you choose the right brand without breaking the bank. For PrEP, we’ll help you find a payment assistance program. With insurance, your birth control is usually free or the cost of your regular copay. We can help you find a zero copay option. *Our Doctors and Nurses are on Your Side* All Nurx healthcare practitioners are board certified and licensed in your state. They undergo a rigorous vetting process to ensure that you’re getting personalized health recommendations from the best sources. Receive judgement free care and message them as often as you’d like! *Safe & Secure* We take your health and privacy very seriously. Nurx is HIPAA compliant, and we encrypt every transaction and conversation you have with us so there is no risk of any breach of privacy.

Nurx - Birth Control and PrEP app screenshots

Nurx - Birth Control and PrEP app reviews

  • Extremely Misleading Information 1/5

    By katieeb5317
    I would not recommend this app to anyone who needs a reply fast. The lack of communication astounds me. For something that is supposed to provide monthly prescriptions and say they’re automatic and practical, they should be considered liars. It took me a week for them to finally message me telling me that my insurance wasn’t partnered with their pharmacy. Which is ridiculous because they list that specific insurance on their information board. Not to mention the fact that they fail to list on their information board all of the states that they cover. I had to look it up myself; which means they have completely outdated information. Utterly absurd service.
  • Sent the wrong thing, won’t answer messages 1/5

    By 8952Jane
    I wouldn’t recommend this service. They took more than a week to prescribe and ship my medication, put my order on hold when I asked why it was taking them so long, then they sent me the wrong one. I asked why they prescribed me the wrong type of medication and they took a week to get back to me. I have asked them to correct the issue and I’m waiting in dread to see how long it takes them to get back to me and still somehow do it wrong. I have never had such a difficult time accessing birth control. They have had a banner up on the app the entire time I’ve been using it that says they have an unusually high volume of messages and can’t answer for many days at a time. I have previously used LemonAid Health for my online prescriptions and never had this many issues; they always got back to me within 48 hours and always gave me what I asked for. Really, really disappointed in this app and extremely nervous about them making additional mistakes in regards to my health.
  • Not at all what it claims to be 1/5

    By hashsgga
    The bottom line is that this app is not nearly as easy or affordable as it claims to be. It’s incredibly disappointing. I would recommend anyone just go to a planned parenthood. I was so happy there was an alternative to paying almost $100 a month for my BC but in the end this app does not save me money or trouble. I’m heartbroken.
  • Fraud and Waste of Time 1/5

    By ANNA2486
    They make you go through a ton of questions, etc...the info doesn’t save, login doesn’t work, the prices the quote when choosing medication are not accurate, then turns out they don’t take all insurances. WASTE OF TIME. MORE ANNOYING THAN CVS COULD EVER BE.
  • Fast, Convenient & Free 5/5

    By Arc11389
    I heard mixed reviews about this app, but decided to try it anyway. I have to say they have been excellent to work with. I've been using this for over a year and have had absolutely no problems. They are always quick to answer messages and keep you updated every step of the way. I have yet to pay anything for a prescription from Nurx. I would definitely recommend them to anyone!
  • Here’s a promo code for you! 5/5

    By ivannai3
    TINYFOX-21SHN ! Use it to get $20!! This is my first time using this pill and so far so good.. I’ll let you know if something happens.
  • I’ve been waiting for over a month 1/5

    By Hue. G Rectiom
    They said it was all set, it was processed. And now they’re telling me I have to start over? They lost my records that’s freaking stupid. Worst service for new time customers. They reply rate takes even longer. Find a different subscription if you don’t want to wait a month for nothing
  • Needs a few fixes 5/5

    By SpaceKyd
    Great app and I love Nurx as a service. I would love to see Face ID added to the iPhone app. Also there is a bit of a keyboard bug that needs to be fixed.
  • GREAT SERVICE 5/5

    By TheramANH
    The app is a little bit finicky but works fine for its purposes. Nurx is a great service if anyone is looking for birth control delivered to them wherever they are. My insurance doesn’t cover anymore but if I ever change I’m definitely going to go back to using nurx. They even helped me give my Rx to an out of nurx pharmacy! Their customer service is great and they get back to you through chatting quite promptly. The automation of never having to worry about my birth control for the month was great. I reccomend Nurx to ANYONE and EVERYONE. They are great!!!
  • Yikes 1/5

    By BBPR444
    Worked great for a while. Love having more autonomy over my own healthcare. Something went terribly awry with this app though... I’ve been waiting several days for a response due to a pack never arriving. Seems it just never shipped... a little scary considering this is how people prevent life from being created. I wouldn’t recommend.
  • Useless 1/5

    By Siobhan Renee
    After I told them I didn’t receive the package they said there was nothing they could do but send me ONE “complimentary” packet , even though I paid for 3. Any other company would resend you them out if you didn’t receive the item. Absolute joke.
  • So easy! 5/5

    By awinn1994
    After realizing I owed my gynecologist $$ in medical bills, they wouldn’t see me until I paid it off. I was on my last pack of birth control pills so I decided to give this app a try. All I had to do was enter my info, submit a profile picture, as well as a picture of my ID and insurance card and I was good to go! Submitted all this information on Christmas eve (A Monday) and received my pills in the mail by Saturday.
  • Read the worse ones 1/5

    By hlieun
    It’s true, terrible customer service for a time-sensitive matter, the first pack comes fine and then you automatically get another one which is automatically charged which is fine except when it doesn't come and they will tell you to check usps or your neighbors and try to make you feel like it was your fault and it is still charged to your card. Then they continue to take forever to respond. Ridiculous, they should be ashamed as a business when half their reviews is one star.
  • Painfully Slow 1/5

    By Xjamesax
    I started the process of getting medicine from Nurx weeks ago. No communication. Will just go to the Dr. next time. The idea is great if service was quick.
  • Hated it 1/5

    By jsnim
    Nurx does not accept my insurance and it took them forever to notify me. Customer service was very slow and wasn’t great at answering my questions. Now I’m trying to figure out how to delete my info off this stupid app and of course they refuse to help me figure that out. I’ve turned to The Pill Club and they’ve been much more helpful and customer service pays attention to my needs. Basically don’t waste your time here. Try Pill Club!
  • Never had any problems 5/5

    By ylujano
    Good if you need generic birth control at a affordable cost. Affordable doesn't meant cheap. If you are looking for cheap and a specific birth control I recommend going to a clinic. Other than that I’ve always been pleased with the service. Pretty straightforward and the customer service reps are nice if you do encounter any problems.
  • Idea is great. App is not. 3/5

    By eruedite
    I ended up trying a few birth controls through this app. I once used the doctor's recommendation function, but I also found their listing of all the birth controls available to be one of the most comprehensive and easy-to-read guides on the internet. At the OBGYN, I never felt empowered to do my own research and make my own choices. In years of using birth control, I never felt like I was on the right thing until now. Pros: App is laid out well and easy to understand. They offer prescriptions for any birth control. Pricing is great. Shipping was also very quick once I'd gotten the script. Providers still ensure patients are safe on their meds, and patients still have a chance to ask questions. Cons: the app loads *so* slowly. It takes several minutes of waiting with the loading circle. If they fix that, it'll be 5 stars. It can also feel slow waiting a couple days for the prescription, but I know that's related to their mission of keeping costs low. It's still way faster than waiting for an office appointment!
  • Service & App Rating 3/5

    By Samirah D.M
    The Nurx Service: I’ve gotten as far as a consultation and a response regarding which birth control I should be picking. Waiting 3 to 5 days to get a response from someone feels more inconvenient than going into an actual office and getting a prescription. The pro to this is, you don’t have to leave the house. So this is great for those with physical and mental disabilities The con is, you have to have a different kind of patience to deal with the slow responses. It’s not terrible but it’s not as immediate as marketed. This isn’t suggested if you need immediate birth control. The app: I love that there’s an app but I don’t love how buggy it is. It’s constantly logging me out and I miss my messages because of it. If I didn’t sign up for sms & email I wouldn’t know a physician responded to my message. I’d love an update that fix that log out because otherwise I’ll just go back to checking my messages through CPU.
  • Easy and efficient! 5/5

    By AURORA STEGOSAURUS
    I hate going to the gyno more than anything and moving to a new state I would’ve had to to be able to get a birth control prescription. I heard about Nurx through Facebook ads and decided to try it. I got the same birth control I had before for no cost and it came in the mail! Easy process and now I get my birth control in packs of 3 right on time to start my next month. Recommended it to a friend who was having trouble with her doctor prescribing on time and now she’s on it too! Love this app.
  • Slow response / not helpful 1/5

    By Iamsarawrz
    I started this process almost 2 week ago..... one, it takes them days if not a week to respond, they canceled my order due to saying my insurance wasn’t valid (called my insurance and they said there should not be any issues).... I’ve never had issues with my insurance with this before so I reached out, still haven’t heard a response. They take forever to process your order. This app makes it seem like it’s easier than going to the doctor. I can promise you, it’s quicker just to go to the doctor for your prescription and then your local pharmacy....
  • Keep your expectations low 2/5

    By Kayla_korruption
    This app is only good if you’re desperate. I will say how grateful I am to have these options when the time came, however I’m glad I won’t have to deal with this company for long. I’m still waiting for my insurance card, and I’m nearly out of my current OCPs. I decided to try this app thanks to the instagram advertisement and ended up in a three day I.M. battle. During the health assessment I confessed to getting headaches/migraines (who the hell doesn’t?!) and mentioned I wanted to stay on something close to my current OCP since I have PCOS. The doctor informed me that they “could not” prescribe me a combination pill with estrogen due to the possibility of stroke since I get migraines. I HAVE PCOS and NEED a pill with estrogen to control my goddamn symptoms! I already have a combination pill WITH estrogen that was prescribed by a fully licensed OB/GYN who knew I have had migraines!!! UHG! Anyway, I’m glad I will be receiving at least something to prevent pregnancy while I wait for my insurance to kick in, but seriously this company is only ideal if you’re in a bind like myself. Two stars because I did technically get what I needed.
  • You should add features 3/5

    By roraaa11
    1. Add notifications for messages 2. Birth control reminder feature Otherwise app is functional
  • Convenient and easy, I can just forget about it! 5/5

    By Sneepert
    This app is a lifesaver and I mean that almost literally! I have PTSD resulting from a medical malpractice issue after my OBGYN nearly killed me during a minimally invasive surgery a few years ago. The reason I had that surgery in the first place was to investigate causes of debilitatingly painful periods. It’s hard for me to go to the doctor now, even for something as simple as getting birth control to lessen the pain of my periods. Nurx has changed my life by allowing me to get medicine without reliving my near death experience. I’m able to go to work, see my students, and have a much higher quality of life because they were willing to work with me to allow me to skip my periods (which usually have me down for the count for a whole week or longer each month). They bill automatically and just send the medication to my door once a month, so I don’t ever have to worry about it. If there’s ever an issue, they’re easy to contact and quick to get it fixed. Nurx has honestly improved my quality of life so much and I recommend it to anyone and everyone who wants birth control from the privacy of their own homes.
  • Love Nurx! 5/5

    By brookiejayy
    I have been incredibly impressed with Nurx for a few months now. The communication is awesome and my birth control arrives every month on time! I would highly recommend using Nurx!
  • Zero stars 1/5

    By raysowle
    The app was so glitchy! I couldn’t even finish the questions!
  • Laggy 1/5

    By cc98kma
    Freezes all the time -_-
  • Can’t even get past the first screen?!? 1/5

    By LittleMiss0993
    Literally will not load past the first screen that pops up 🙄🙄
  • Awful 1/5

    By KCVTTVBTW
    This app is awful. It took me forever to get an account set up, and they would not accept the photos of my ins. I need the pills for a medical condition, and because they wouldn’t accept the photos to the ins after trying to get it going for days, I told them to just bill me because the price it stated without ins was low. The price I was charged was actually TRIPLE what it said it would be. I got the pills later than expected. It was also supposed to auto refill, until they messaged me just a few days before they were supposed to be shipped, saying the brand I use is now out of stock, but they were changing it to a generic brand of the same dosage. Ok... A couple days later I was messaged AGAIN saying the photos of my ins I added for the THIRD time got caught in a “bug” and were deleted, and I would need to send them via chat, which by the way, I’ve already tried and THEY DONT SEND. This “bug” also cancelled my order. It’s now a week before I absolutely NEED these pills and I’m likely not going to get them, and if I do I’ll be charged yet again for something that’s their problem. This company has terrible customer service and an even worse app. Don’t waste your time.
  • Not working 1/5

    By Nini neenz
    I tried to fill out and make a profile. Can’t get past the first page. It just freezes. Shame cause it actually had a birth control I want.
  • The app is not working 3/5

    By Just a helpful suggestions
    I’m trying to set up my health stuff and it won’t change or switch to the next page
  • App doesn’t work. 1/5

    By sarahp6578
    I didn’t even get to order anything on here. I got the the part where you put in your birthdate and height and weight and it won’t let me click next at all. I’ve tried reopening it and everything. Really annoying so I’m uninstalling because there is no point t in an app that won’t even work 🙃
  • TERRIBLE WASTE OF TIME 1/5

    By BHolmqvist
    I set up an account and uploaded my ID, got an email that I needed to upload my ID again because their system doesn’t work. Tried to log back into the app, got an invalid password message. Logged onto the desktop and my password was fine, tried again, same thing. I can’t upload my ID if I can’t get into the app. Called customer service and they never answer. SCAM.
  • Don’t use this.... 1/5

    By Thats what i thought...
    Worst experience I’ve ever had. They charge me just for a simple text message of somebody prescribing me a birth-control that I never even bought it wasn’t even the one that I wanted. It didn’t even get processed I wasn’t approved for it at all even after the text message and they refuse to help me or figure this out.
  • Really convenient! 5/5

    By Samii777
    This app is a great alternative to get BC! I love it because every time I need a refill I have to make an appointment which sometimes I don’t have the time for and I had my last pap six months ago so definitely don’t need that again! This makes it really easy and the app admins are great at responding to messages, thank you!
  • Cancelled and moved to the pill club 1/5

    By amadcostumerwhojustwantedpills
    Had almost 50 dollars taken out of my account. The workers there are so rude . I tried communicating to them about what happened and more details on how to fix the issue, the worker immediately stopped caring and just left a message ending in a " Well your pills are coming in 3 days - Caroline " Hated it. And cancelled my subscription and the app. Don't download it . The pillclub is way more helpful and understanding.
  • Disappointed 1/5

    By alex.x214
    I was excited at first when I came across this app, but when I tried using the app it kept buffering. I couldn’t get my prescription that I needed.
  • So far a one star rating for me 1/5

    By erycka82
    UPDATE!!!!!! Way below one star THEY STEAL MONEY IF YOU DO NOT PAY ATTENTION!!!!!!! They did deliver the prescription, it took forever but they did! They took money twice from my account the first time, which I assumed it might be an initiation fee or something of the sort. They did not tell me any warning about it, they just charged away!!!! Then at time of refills it was the same issue but more amount of money!!! If you must get your OCP’s from this people, I’d suggest you get yourself a prepaid card. Otherwise they WILL steal your hard earn money and overcharge the crap out of you!!!!! Please be careful, not a trustworthy company! They do not reply to messages on the app. It’s frustrating and sad to have questions and worries and not be answered. Customer service isn’t good or bad but completely Inexistent! I’ll give it one last try, only because I want to see how far the unresponsiveness goes to. Will keep friends and family posted as to either being worth their time or not!
  • Impressed 5/5

    By JDMMC
    After reading a few of the reviews here I’m a little stunned with the contrast of service I received compared to others. I have a few tricky medical conditions including migraines with aura and was skeptical that nurx would even be able to help me at all. Doubtful as I was I decided to give it a try anyway just to see what would happen. After answering the health questionnaire and picking a generic combination bc I was notified that I would be contacted in 3-5 days from the physician if there were any additional questions that needed to be answered. About 3 days later the physician sent me a message letting me know the type of birth control I had selected was not safe for anyone who has ever had a migraine with aura. She offered me two options. Either move on to a progestin only pill or proceed with my primary care physician. I opted for the progestin pill. About a day later I was notified that was what was being sent to their pharmacy and to let them know if I had any questions. Same day I was notified my insurance was not partnered with their pharmacy and was offered three options. I’m not going to go through each but I chose to pay their 12$ service fee to have the script transferred to a pharmacy that took my insurance. I was warned to make sure that the prescription would be covered with the pharmacy before committing to the service charge so I did my due diligence. The next day my prescription was sent and I picked up three packs from my local pharmacy same day at no cost to me since that bc is no charge under my insurance. Although there were about two minor hurdles and some mini legwork on my part the whole process from beginning to end took 5-6 days from my initial request and fulfillment of all their requirements (uploading my drivers license and regular photo). I am so pleased with the service that I will plan on using it again in the future.
  • Amazing 5/5

    By ☺️😍😘💜y
    I was skeptical because of all the bad reviews but I literally downloaded the app yesterday afternoon and today around 9pm my prescription was at my local pharmacy, ready to pick up. I will definitely continue to use this method of receiving my birth control. The process was easy and they answered all my questions.
  • Refill late 3/5

    By ayeshanan
    Refill did not come on time :( supposed to be here 2 days ago.
  • Terrible Customer Service 1/5

    By thatonegirlxxx
    At first this seemed like a great app. It was convenient and easy to use. After there was a delivery issue they asked if I wanted to have the prescription delivered to my local pharmacy and I said yes. It has been a month and my pharmacy has yet to receive the prescription. If I message them they just say the same thing “I hope that you’re doing well today! Thank you for reaching out to us. We sent the tensing refills on your prescription to your local pharmacy for pickup. I suggest calling your pharmacy if you have any questions about the medication and when it will be read, they can provide you with updates, thanks.” While I appreciate them getting back to me they have done nothing to solve the problem.
  • Highly recommend! 5/5

    By TW-happy
    I was 100% skeptical to try this. I have no insurance & needed a prescription. I wanted to stay with the same pills, so the doctors communicated very well with me. We decided on another brand that had the same ingredients as my other pill to save a large amount. I received pills within a week of starting the process. I’m a happy customer! If you aren’t willing to change the pill you use, I can see how this app isn’t for you. There’s many brands that do the same so changing the brand isn’t a big deal.
  • Amazing 5/5

    By Alalalalalalaloooop
    I struggled for years to renew/obtain birth control prescriptions when changing health insurances etc. And it was super stressful. This app literally saved me. It’s totally hassle-free- you take a pic of your health insurance card and nurx finds a prescription that’s covered for you and that matches your current (unless you want to choose a specific brand). The birth control arrives at your place the day after they say it’s shipped. They always answer my questions within 24 hours. I’ve never had a single issue and I never write reviews but nurx deserves all my singing praise for eternity.
  • Great service if the app cooperates 3/5

    By crabladyy
    This is a great idea for affordable and discreet birth control, but the app crashes often and does not work when on the phone or when it is not connected to WiFi. The idea is great; the software is lacking.
  • Very disappointing. 2/5

    By boonenralph
    This app was really great for the first 6 months, no issues at all and great customer service. On my third refill, with no warning, they sent me a different brand of bc than what I had received for the past 6 months. I contacted them and asked to send it back and have them send my regular pills, but they assured me it was a generic version of the pill I was used to and said I should just take it. I stared taking it and started experiencing undesirable side effects including bleeding. I contacted them again with my concerns and told them to send my regular prescription. They said they would change my prescription to only receive the one brand, and then charged me $90 for the updated prescription that used to be $45 for the exact same pills!! They claimed the $90 was just a “pre-authorization fee that would be refunded”, but I had never experienced this random fee the past 6 months of using this app. Very sketchy and very upsetting they didn’t inform me they were randomly sending me a new prescription. Also, the app is very slow and full of glitches. It was almost impossible to change my address and card info when I moved/switched cards. My old info will randomly pop up on my new orders even tho I had deleted and changed it. Again, very sketchy. Customer service is disgraceful, they just don’t even reply to messages. This app is a great idea but they are doing a horrible job at running it. After taking a break from this app, I decided to give it one last chance and messaged them saying I would like to order my prescription, to which they have still not replied🙃. Currently looking for a new service.
  • WORST APP EVER 1/5

    By this_app_sucks!
    After asking specifically if they were able to help Oregon residents, I was told yes. So I proceeded, however my insurance wasn’t accepted. No big deal, they transferred my prescription to a local pharmacy and charged my card $12 like agreed. However after going to the pharmacy, it’s an Oregon law that they cannot fill prescriptions prescribed by an out of state doctor. So I called them, to get my $12 back, they tell me that they sent me multiple messages explaining that it’s up to the pharmacy to decide if they can help me (which was not at all what the message said, it simple said to call ahead and make sure it was ready) and said that I’m out the $12 because it’s simply just nonrefundable. And the lady was very rude as well. After being on hold for 15 minutes, I was told I was S.O.L. As a large company who helps customers all over the US, they should be aware of all laws and let other states residents know that even if we pay the $12 transfer fee, it won’t do any good because pharmacies can’t accept out of state prescriptions.
  • Amazing 5/5

    By crybabydemon
    This is honestly the most convenient thing if you don’t want to go in person to get this. Saves you a lot of hassle and its free! What could be better than that?? It takes about two weeks to come in but I’m still very impressed by this app
  • Amazing app!! 5/5

    By T2399
    I was skeptical about buying birth control on an app, but they made it so easy! I had one that a friend recommended, but they offered one that did exactly what i wanted, and boy am i happy! And, they sent me two plan-b’s and 2 boxes of 12-pack female condoms (i will not be using the condoms because they scare me 😂) And it was free!!
  • Exceeded expectations 5/5

    By Jessedoyler_
    I was hesitant at first because of all the bad reviews. When I was between jobs and without insurance this was my cheapest option for getting BC and without a doctor visit. I haven’t had any issues getting my specific brand of BC, I ALWAYS get a quick and helpful response, and they were prompt and great about explaining the changes to how my pills would be mailed when my new insurance was added in the app. With that being said, this is an app. So I don’t understand why people give 1 star because it took them 2 days to respond to an inquiry, or they weren’t approved fast enough. If you’re not on top of your own medication and give yourself the correct time that’s needed to use a doctor through an app and get a mail order than it’s probably best to see a doctor in person.

Nurx - Birth Control and PrEP app comments


Download Android Apps and Games Android APK

Home | Privacy Policy | DMCA | Contact | Copyright © 2019